Knowing Oneself: the Skills you possess and the Services you can provide

After two weeks and not getting any income from Freelancer.com, Fiverr and Guru, I began to feel anxiety bubbling inside me. In order to calm myself down, I decided to explore other means of earning. I started by thinking about the skills I have and what I can do for others.

Living in a bilingual environment all my life, I believe I’m able to provide English-Chinese translation since both are my native languages. I could probably search for online translation providers and see if there is a way for me to join them as a translator. Skills that you possess since young might not appear so to you immediately since you have been doing it for a long time. However, what might seem like a normal craft to you might be something that others really need!

Through the past few jobs I had, I’ve gained a lot of hands-on experiences in various type of data entry and in usage of Microsoft Excel and Word. Particularly in my first job after graduation as a Procurement Executive, my secondary secretariat duties allowed me to gain advanced Word and Excel skills which I had no opportunity to use previously. Some of these Word and Excel functions and VBA macro are very useful but not everyone knows them! Probably I can explore more to see how I can utilise these skills…

The last one I thought of was transcription of English audio, which is a service that anyone competent in English can do! I only found out that such service exist after browsing through some of the “Gigs” in Fiverr. Researching on online transcription service providers is another item that I have added to my to-do list.

To-do list:
– Research on online translation service providers
– Research on online transcription service providers
– Explore on possible services with advance Word and Excel skills

I have started searching on websites providing transcription services and will write about them as I start exploring them one by one! Good luck to you and me on our freelancing journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

